Project Life Family Album: January 2016

Ok, so where am I in my 2016 Project Life Family Album? January is complete (has been for a few weeks now), I just finished February (only a week into March) and I haven’t started on March yet. I’m feeling pretty good, especially after I finished February (yesturday actually).

So I’m ready to start sharing, today will be all about January and February is coming soon.

At the end of December I made a couple decisions about how I was going to move forward into 2016 with my Project Life Family Album and I decided to do things a little different this year.

Project Life 2016 at www.ScrapandPlan.wordpress.com

What’s Staying the Same in 2016

Size: Staying with 12×12

Photos and Journaling: I will still be using the Collect App to add journaling to my photos.

Embellishments: I’m usually pretty minimal with embellishments and that will stay the same, I like the focus to be on the photos.

Pocket Style: I will still be mainly using Design F Page Protectors from Becky Higgins.

What’s Changing in 2016

Monthly vs. Weekly in Project Life by www.ScrapandPlan.wordpress.com Format: I am changing to a monthly format instead of weekly spreads with week numbers. My plan is to use as many page protectors as need be to fit in all my photos and stories from the month. I will still be going chronologically through the month but not worrying about where each page starts and stops. With that being said I made almost all single side or one page spreads instead of two page spreads in January. I really liked the freedom to use as much space as needed and group photos as events instead of just by week.

What Products am I using in 2016?

I already have a couple Becky Higgins Core and Value Kits and was lucky enough to get a couple more for Christmas. Plus I “shopped my stash” over Christmas Break and found some pattern paper that I really like and cut it down in to 4×6 size so I can use them in my albums too.

My current Card Kits Include (mostly Becky Higgins):

These are the majority of the card kits that I have, I’m sure I will pick up a couple more along the way and I also like to print cards from the Project Life App when I just want one or two from a kit.

January 2016 Pages 

You can see a complete flip through of my January Project Life Album Here.

I’m starting each month out with a recap page. I actually saw this on another crafters blog, Katina Martinez, you can check her out at Loving Life’s Little Blessings.

Monthly Recap Page in Project Life Album by www.ScrapandPlan.wordpress.com

I start with just a plain piece of paper numbered with the days of the month in my journal. Throughout the month I just add a simple phrase for each day. I then printed it on velum and used my fuse tool to make the page protector the right size.
One of my favorite pages this month was the second page using mainly blue cards with yellow accents.

January page from Project Life 2016 at www.ScrapandPlan.wordpress.com

 

Like I mentioned earlier I use the Collect App for iPhone to add all my journaling to the photos. It’s a really simple app to use and you can add as many photos as need be for each day. You can then save the photo to your camera role and print as normal.

You can see the walk through video of how I organize my photos and use the Collect App Here.

One thing I don’t like about using the collect app actually has more to do with how the photo is printed. I like to use Walgreens because I can order and pick up my photos the same day and they usually have a coupon making photos like 9 cents each. But the images always get cut off slightly when printed. I like that the finished 3×4 photo has a white boarder all around the photo and journaling when you create it in the app. But when they are printed it usually cuts off the white boarder on some sides. I even had some journaling cut off slightly.

Using Collect App to print Project Life Photos from www.ScrapandPlan.wordpress.com

As you can see in the photo of my son the right side doesn’t have a white boarder and the word tonight is cut off at the bottom. I sent some photos to Shutterfly last year and didn’t have this problem so I think it’s just Walgreens. So I could just send my photos off and not have this issue but I don’t really want to do that.

Here’s another page from my album that I really like.

January Project Life Page from www.ScrapandPlan.wordpress.com

Storytelling with Project Life is Changing Me 

I started taking Ali Edwards Storytelling with Project Life class at the beginning of February, in the middle of working on January, and it started having an effect on how I was completing my pages (more on that in February). You can check out my review of the class here.

She talks I lot about including the “stuff of life” and that inspired me to add an insert with Logan’s school work.

Stuff of Life Insert in Project Life from www.ScrapandPlan.wordpress.com

I just trimmed his school work to the size I wanted and cut a page protector to the right size. This time using washi tape to close, just because I thought it was cute. I also added stickers spelling ‘school’ along the side for fun.

As I mentioned earlier I do have a Fuse Tool it was a early birthday present to myself in January. I was playing around with it and made a pretty cool shaker pocket with some of the decor from my youngest’s birthday. I then added a blue chipboard number 1 to the outside of the page and it was done. Pretty Cool.

Shaker Pocket made with Fuse Tool in Project Life from www.ScrapandPlan.wordpress.com

We had family photos taken at the end of the month and I am so happy with the way they turned out. I included them at the end of the month and am still waiting to print two of them as 12×12 full page photos. I’m planning to order them from Persnickety Prints, it just hasn’t happened yet.

A Finished Album 

Project Life January 2016 from www.ScrapandPlan.wordpress.com

I’m pretty happy with the way January turned out. There are a couple cards that I wish were different but that’s ok, the story is there. As Ali says it’s the sum of everything in the pockets that makes up the story not just one card.

Please take a few minutes to check out the full walk through of January here, and let me know what you think.

Thanks and February is coming soon, just a heads up I do change my pocket and journaling style.

One thought on “Project Life Family Album: January 2016

  1. Pingback: Project Life Notebook – Scrap and Plan

Leave a Reply

