How to print a 6×8 Photo

I created a 6×8 mini album of my son’s first year and wanted to use some full 6×8 photos, but didn’t know how to print them.

I don’t have photoshop and don’t print at home. I need to figure out a way to set up a 6×8 photo on a larger canvas, either 8×10 or 12×12, to send out to a printer.

I like to use Persnickety Prints to print 12×12 photos and still had some credits for 12×12 prints. I knew I wanted to use those credits so I had to figure out how to make a 12×12 collage with my 6×8 photos.

I heard from many other Project Lifers that Pic Monkey was a good place to create collages, and its free, so I thought I would give it a try.

At first look I couldn’t really figure it out, there was no page sizing on the canvas. Everything is outlined in pixels, so the canvas was 2000 x 2000, whatever that means.

So like any good American who doesn’t know how to do something I turned to the internet and searched youtube for some help. There are lots of video tutorials on how to use the collage feature but nothing really explained how to create a 12×12 finished product.

After a couple weeks of researching and thinking I figured I was just going to have to wing it. The math suggested that a 12×12 canvas can be divided into two 6×8 photos on top and two 4×6 photos on the bottom. So I just made that.

How to set up a 12×12 canvas on Pic Monkey

Step One: Insert your photos on the left panel.

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 12.24.44 PM

Step Two: Drag and drop to add your photos to the canvas.

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 12.01.09 PM.png

Step Three: Here’s the wing it part, I just eyeballed the sizing for a 6×8 photo and a 4×6 photo. You can change the size of the photos by just dragging the boarders.

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 12.01.25 PM

Step Four: Use the left side panel to change the photo spacing so there is no white boarder around each photo.

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 12.01.39 PM

Then you have a finished 12×12 layout (lets hope it’s the right size).

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 12.01.48 PM

Then I just saved the image to my computer and printed it through Persnickety Prints. After a fews days it showed up at my door and I was so excited to see if I did it right. And guess what, I did!!

Here is one of the pages I created with two 6×8 photos on the top and two 4×6 photos on the bottom.

12x12 college.jpg

I am so excited that I figured out how to print a 6×8 photo on a 12×12 canvas. I’m sure there are easier ways to make this happen but I couldn’t find them.

6x8 photos

I hope this process can help you print your 6×8 photos too.

Leave a Reply

